SECTION 53, LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT IN HEALTH ACT 2007

THE BOROUGH COUNCIL OF NEWCASTLE-UNDER-LYME (WHOLE COUNCIL ELECTIONS) ORDER 2017

By a resolution of 25th November 2015 the Borough Council of Newcastle-under-Lyme have, under Section 32 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (the Act) determined that it will be subject to a scheme of Whole Council Elections under Sections 33 and 34 of the Act (as amended by the Localism Act 2011)

Citation and Commencement

This Order may be cited as the Borough Council of Newcastle-under-Lyme (Whole Council Elections) Order 2017 and shall come into force on 1st March 2017

Elections of the Council of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme

- 1. Elections of all councillors for the wards of the Borough Council of Newcastle-under-Lyme (the Borough) shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2018 and every fourth year thereafter
- 2. The councillors holding office for any ward of the Borough immediately before the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2018 shall retire on that date and the newly elected councillors for those wards shall come into office on that date

Parish Elections

- (1) Elections of all Town and Parish Councillors for any town or parish specified in paragraph (2) below shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2018 and every fourth year thereafter
- (2) The Town and Parish Councils are:

Audley Parish Council Betley, Balterley and Wrinehill Parish Council Chapel and Hill Chorlton Parish Council Keele Parish Council Kidsgrove Town Council Loggerheads Parish Council Madeley Parish Council Maer Parish Council Silverdale Parish Council Whitmore Parish Council

- (3) The Town and Parish Councillors for those town/parishes holding office immediately before the fourth day after the ordinary election of councillors in 2018 shall retire on that date and the newly elected councillors for those town/parishes shall come into office on that date
- (4) The term of office of all Town and Parish Councillors elected in accordance with paragraph (1) above shall be four years, and they shall retire on the fourth date after the ordinary day of election of councillors and the newly elected parish councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire

THE COMMON SEAL OF THEBOROUGH COUNCIL OFNEWCASTLE-UNDER-LYMEwas hereunto affixed in thepresence of:

Mayor/Councillor

Authorised signatory